Alternative sea

I watched The Ghost Writer years ago. It is a slow-paced, moody political thriller, directed by Roman Polanski, starring Ewan McGregor and Pierce Brosnan. To be honest, I didn’t care much for the plot. I hardly remember it. I was however impressed with the atmosphere it creates. And with the fact that it made me really want to go to the seaside during winter.

As I said in my previous post, I don’t care much for seaside vacations, but The Ghost Writer managed to show me a sea experience that speaks more to my bad weather loving nature. The whole film is gloomy, rainy and grey. The office where Ewan McGregor does his ghostwriter duties has a giant window to the freezing beach and the stormy sea. As I was watching, all I could think about was how I would love to spend some rainy time in such a room. Writing, drinking tea and snuggling under a blanket would be my daily activities in such a place. I know the atmosphere was supposed to be depressing, but all that it managed to do for me is wake up my wanderlust and my desire to write. 
ghostwriter1

ghostwriter9

ghostwriter8

Coming back to the film itself, there is not much I can say about it. The plot took a back seat for me and let the mood drive the bus, of which it did a pretty good job. The irony of Roman Polanski, hiding from the law in a different country, directing a film about a guy hiding from the law in a different country wasn’t lost on the internet.

Also, be aware that the trailer reveals a lot of the plot.

Leave a Reply

